How do I get my lost emails back from Virgin Media ? (or do I sue Richard Branson or Microsoft ?)

I was an ntlworld customer in the UK from 1990 to November 2011. In November 2011, I changed my internet service provider from ntlworld who had then been taken over by Virgin Media.

My operating system at the time was Windows Vista. All my emails were converted to Vista's wml format and stored in my Windows Mail.  (and these are important emails because, I am a Chartered Accountant licenced by the    Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales, and my emails contained all correspondence and file attachments from my professional clients as well lost of very valuable personal correspondence) 

I was one of the people who upgraded to Windows 8 on the first day, i.e. on October 26, 2012.

Unfortunately I discovered that Microsoft , on upgrading my OS to Windows 8, have erased my Windows Mail completely from my PC. This means I have lost my correspondence covering more than 20 years.

I phoned Microsoft technical support several times  who directed me to their call centre in India. We have several very long conversations but it was all to no avail. I told the Microsoft assistant that it was the legal responsibility of Microsoft to have saved all my wml files in the hard disc of my computer before erasing my Windows Mail from my PC. I assumed that Microsoft would automatically save all my wml files to my PC before erasing my Windows Mail, which is their own trusted software from my PC.

Better still I think Windows 8 should have given me the option to keep Windows Mail and all its contents on my PC while I was "upgrading" to Windows 8,  but they haven't.