Printer driver was not installed. The system cannot find the file specified.

I cannot add an HP DeskJet 1000c printer to Windows 8 64 bit Pro on a Lenovo laptop.  This printer is listed by Microsoft as being compatible with Windows 8, but when I go through the routine to add the printer, including selecting it from the list provided by Windows, it appears to be installing the driver for about 15 seconds and then gives the error message "Printer driver was not installed.  The system cannot find the file specified."  When I check the Windows Update log it shows as a failed install, and it no longer shows in Windows Update as a recommended update.

I have tried the detailed instructions on HP's website for a manual install to no avail.  I am an administrator, but it smells like a permissions issue.

Any ideas what I need to do to add this printer?

Thanks in advance.

* Please try a lower page number.

* Please enter only numbers.

1 person found this reply helpful

·

Was this reply helpful?

Sorry this didn't help.

Great! Thanks for your feedback.

How satisfied are you with this reply?

Thanks for your feedback, it helps us improve the site.

Thanks for your feedback.

Thanks.  The Guidelines don't appear to apply to Windows 8.  The Hardware Wizard simply invokes the Add Printer program and when I went through it I got the same result as before.  I had found the drivers in the http://catalog.update.microsoft.com/v7/site/Search.aspx?q=HP%20DeskJet%201000c%20, but am not sure how to install them.

One detail I left out in my original description is that the HP DeskJet 1000c is a parallel printer and I am using a USB to Parallel cable converter to connect to my Lenovo laptop.  The Device Manager reports that the cable converter is working properly and it also shows up in the list of printers.