Problem using Win7 USB/DVD download tool (concerning bootsect.exe)

Hi, I am a student, (at the Florida Institute of Technology).  And I used digital river to buy a version of win7 professional for my laptop.

Now the laptop i am currently using is xp 32bit.  I got it right when vista was coming out and it was supposed to work with vista, but the reviews were so bad that i never used it.

So now i want to install 64bit win7, and i use the tool (and read the help) but I cannot get the correct version of bootsect.exe, so that I can create a valid bootable USB on this computer, so that I can format and install win7 64bit on this same computer.

* Please try a lower page number.

* Please enter only numbers.

Hi nkarl2009,

Welcome to Microsoft answers!

a. Do you get any error message whatsoever?

To make the USB device bootable, you need to run a tool named bootsect.exe. In some cases, this tool needs to be downloaded from your Microsoft Store account. This many happen if you're trying to create a 64-bit bootable USB device from a 32-bit version of Windows. To download bootsect:

1. Login to your Microsoft Store account to view your purchase history
2. Look for your Windows 7 purchase
3. Next to Windows 7, there is an "Additional download options" dropdown
4. In the dropdown, select the "32-bit ISO" option
5. Right-click the link and save the bootsect.exe file to the location where you installed the Windows 7 USB/DVD Download Tool (e.g. C:\Users\username\AppData\Local\Apps\Windows 7 USB DVD Download Tool)
6. Once the file has been saved, go back to the Windows 7 USB/DVD Download tool to create your bootable USB device

To install 64-bit of Windows 7 on your computer it is essential that your computer supports 64-bit computing.

The terms 32-bit and 64-bit refer to the way a computer's processor (also called a CPU), handles information. The 64-bit version of Windows handles large amounts of random access memory (RAM) more effectively than the 32-bit version.