MIDI-moron seeking MIDI-orologist. Yamaha DGX-500 Portable Grand connected with Hosa MIDI to USB Interface cable. Can't get sound on computer speakers.

Connected Yamaha DGX-500 Portable Grand and Yeti LE USB Microphone to eMachines LE 1352-01e. Getting sound from Microphone, but not from Keyboard.

Installed SONAR Home Studio 7. When installing this software, it recognized my DGX-500 and allowed me to choose to include. (After performing System recovery and re-installing Sonar, this time I had the keyboard plugged in before I began installing software and it seemed to help. I also disabled my Anti-Virus program before installing SONAR.)

I am brand new to MIDI. Please explain in very basic terms when possible, and even over-explain. Don't assume I know anything. Perhaps offer websites I can go to (already posed question on Twitter @TheYamahaHub regarding Compatibility of Hosa MIDI to USB Interface vs. Yamaha UX16, since Yamaha salesperson at Best Buy sold me Hosa; Yamaha cable not in stock.)

Have followed "on Local/INITSEND" instructions (to the best of my limited understanding) from MIDI instructions in the Yamaha DGX-500 Owner's Manual. Do I need a Third piece of Hardware in between the Keyboard and the PC?

Answer
Answer