Icon Label Text Color will NOT change and Drop Shadows will NOT go away!

I have pored over these threads and other forums and done everything that has been suggested to get rid of drop shadows on icon label text and they just keep coming back!

The icon label text is white and I want it to be black. There is no setting anywhere in Windows 10 to change this! In previous versions it was possible to change the background color, even if you are using a picture background, and that color forced the icon label text to be either black or white based on that color. This is not possible in Windows 10. It is only possible to use EITHER a picture or background color, and the colors are VERY limited. And Windows decides for you the label text color.

I am a designer, and I find it important to keep mid grey tones in my background to make it easier to identify color casts in my work. And I want to set an appropriate label color. In this case BLACK with NO DROP SHADOW.

But my background apparently confuses the hell out of Windows 10 when trying to automatically set the label text based on my background. I'm surprised the developers didn't even think about this. There NEEDS TO BE a manual option!

I have noticed that sometimes after booting up everything is fine. This problem is very inconsistent.

However I have noticed that EVERY TIME I use the TaskView (or when I dock app windows at the edge of the screen, which also enables Task View mode) the text will change to white with a drop shadow. Then the only thing to do is to reboot and hope it changes back.

This points to the fact that there is something SERIOUSLY WRONG with how this works.

And BTW yes, I have gone to advanced system settings and disabled drop shadow on icon text, and yes, the registry setting "ListviewShadow" is set to zero.

Is there ANYTHING I can do?

Was this discussion helpful?

Sorry this didn't help.

Great! Thanks for your feedback.

How satisfied are you with this discussion?