Windows 10: Unknown System (Z:) Partition or Disk.

Original Title: System (Z:) Partition or Disk?

I was getting an external hard drive in when I noticed a SYSTEM (Z:) drive. It's 359 MB. Not sure what it is, but nothing has access to it. I can't seem to get over what it is, although it could be potential backup software. Anyways, is there any way I can get rid of it? I don't really need something like that, although it's taking that little of my space. Thanks!

Answer
Answer

Well. I have a lot of technical experience but why in the world windows has to create a partition I have no idea. I experienced the same issues that you all did. Drive Z appears for no apparent reason, denied access. No security tab to take ownership and gain access. Sooooo, I took control of my own problem...

I enable the raw administrator. Then opened a command prompt as administrator (probably could have did this without enabling the raw admin, but why take chances. Yes I'm the same guy that brings a tank to a knife fight.) I found the following on the root of the drive.

Z:\>dir
 Volume in drive Z has no label.
 Volume Serial Number is 7A95-624B
 Directory of Z:\
09/05/2016  07:10 PM    <DIR>          EFI
               0 File(s)              0 bytes
               1 Dir(s)     170,754,048 bytes free

in that folder I found:

Z:\EFI>dir
 Volume in drive Z has no label.
 Volume Serial Number is 7A95-624B
 Directory of Z:\EFI
06/27/2016  10:52 PM    <DIR>          .
06/27/2016  10:52 PM    <DIR>          ..
06/27/2016  10:52 PM    <DIR>          Microsoft
06/27/2016  10:52 PM    <DIR>          Boot
09/05/2016  07:10 PM    <DIR>          HP
               0 File(s)              0 bytes
               5 Dir(s)     170,754,048 bytes free

Z:\EFI>

Question, why in the %$@! is this partition a boot partition???

Next I ran disk management and got