Recent Folders in Backstage - Pin Folders Not in List

Microsoft Word 2013 (15.0.4649.1000)

MSO (15.0.4649.1000) 32-bit

Part of Microsoft Office 365

Windows 8.1

In Microsoft Word 2013, there are folders I would like to pin at the top of the Recent Folders list in Backstage.  I know how to pin folders from the Recent Folders list, but I cannot get these specific folders to appear on that list so I may pin them.

I rarely save files in these folders; instead, they are more like "master" folders containing multiple subfolders in which I do save files.  Having those pinned to the top of my Recent Folders would speed up my file operations considerably.  (I'm a teacher with thousands of documents organized by course, unit, chapter, and activity.)

How can I get these "master" folders to appear on the Recent Folders list so that I can pin them to the top of that list?  Alternatively, is there a way I can manually add these "master" folders to the Recent Folders list or even the pinned folders list?

I tried creating a file and saving it in the "master" folder, thinking that would force the "master" folder to show up on the Recent Folders list.  It did not.  I tried creating a second file and saving it in the "master" folder, thinking that the Recent Folders list generates based on the frequency with which I access a folder.  That did not put the "master" folder on the Recent Folders list.  I tried opening both documents from within Word, editing them, then saving them again, thinking that multiple file operations within Word might help force the "master" folder onto the Recent Folders list.  No success.

Again, I know how to do this in the standard file operation dialog box with Favorites, and how to configure options to bypass Backstage, but there are some advantages to Backstage I would like to preserve, if possible.  I have similar issues with Excel and PowerPoint, but I'm guessing the solution in Word will apply to those as well.  If not, I'll tackle them later.