Office 365 REALLY Slow

I know this is already addressed, but nothing I read really helps me.  I have office 365.  I run windows 8.1.  I have my documents on the computer and cloud (one drive).  It takes forever for one character to appear.  I type a sentence and it's five minutes before it is on the page.  In the meantime I can't move around in the document.  Sometimes it saves and I can't do anything.  I have to write a lot of documents and this is cutting my productivity in half.  What on earth can I do.  (Note, I am not a techie and so please explain your responses in lay person terms.  I have checked my computer basically and no malware or viruses, etc and everything is runniing fine.  This slowness is the norm, but occasionally office runs fine.  I have this problem in Word.  Thanks to whatever help you can give me.

* Please try a lower page number.

* Please enter only numbers.

I know this is already addressed, but nothing I read really helps me.  I have office 365.  I run windows 8.1.  I have my documents on the computer and cloud (one drive).  It takes forever for one character to appear.  I type a sentence and it's five minutes before it is on the page.  In the meantime I can't move around in the document.  Sometimes it saves and I can't do anything.  I have to write a lot of documents and this is cutting my productivity in half.  What on earth can I do.  (Note, I am not a techie and so please explain your responses in lay person terms.  I have checked my computer basically and no malware or viruses, etc and everything is runniing fine.  This slowness is the norm, but occasionally office runs fine.  I have this problem in Word.  Thanks to whatever help you can give me.