Word 2013 Crash on Insert Cross-reference

Hello

I am using Office 2013 Home and Student on Windows 7 Home Basic. I have been using it without any problems for about two years. Now I find that when I try to insert a cross-reference, Word crashes.

When I click the "Cross-reference" button in the "References" ribbon, the "Cross-reference" window appears and so does the spinning wheel on the mouse pointer. The program stays in this state and does not seem to recover. When I click the top right corner of either the "Cross-reference" window or the main Word window, I get the "Microsoft Word is not responding" window, and I choose to "Close the program".

The problem happens with, e.g., a 70 page document, and it also happens with a new, blank document.

I have tried to repair Office 2013. The result was that the cross-reference function was disabled. Then I read somewhere that to bring back the cross-reference function I would have to uninstall and reinstall Office, which I did. This brought back the cross-reference function but did not fix the original problem.

I would appreciate any help!

Regards,

Paulo.

Answer
Answer

Ah, I am glad I am not the only one with this problem...

But I have some promising news. After playing around with that same test set up, two things seemed to indicate some kind of graphics issue. One was that the CTRL-ALT-DEL to start the task manager forces a screen update, and eventually Word recovers. But it recovers sooner if you start task manager, then come back to Word and click the document, i.e., outside of the cross-reference window. The other is that there was a very slight change in the rendering of the document text in Word when the spinning wheel started.