WD2013 master document is it possible to export as a single .docx file?

I have a 40 chapter book in master document form. It refuses headers and footers, and altered the page margins when I tried to use them. It will not scroll properly, loses and finds pages and graphics leap about at random. It is utterly chaotic.

So as not to lose a month's work I desperately need to save it as a single document. I have tried compiling the individual chapters but the formatting is incorrect and the first section is of course missing - of course, if you add it, it becomes a master document again. 

Question: does anyone know how to achieve this?

As a note, this is a top end workstation with 32GB of ram, solid state memory and 14 processors. This is not a hardware problem. The OS is Win7 64 bit, completely up to date. 

The master document facility has been riven with problems since the earliest versions and Microsoft has shown no inclination to fix it. It is, as you appear to have discovered, best avoided.

Create a new blank document. Set the margins to the same as the original master document, and copy the paragraph styles from the master document to your new document using the Organizer. Copy the text content from the Master document to the new document then import all the sub documents. To facilitate that you could use http://www.gmayor.com/Boiler.htm .

You will probably still have to do some tidying up, but it should be better as a single document. Make sure you have backups!

Graham Mayor (Microsoft Word MVP 2002-2019)
For more Word tips and downloads visit my web site
https://www.gmayor.com/Word_pages.htm

Was this reply helpful?

Sorry this didn't help.

Great! Thanks for your feedback.

How satisfied are you with this reply?

Thanks for your feedback, it helps us improve the site.

Thanks for your feedback.