MS Word 2013 Crashes When I Touch Screen

Hello! This is my first time posting here. I run MS Office 2013 on my laptops, one a Lenovo G500s Touch and the other a Lenovo Ideapad Flex 2 15". Both have touchscreens and Windows 8.1. Every so often--while editing a heavily-edited and infrequently-saved document on the G500s and randomly on the Flex--when I t ouch the screen to scroll elsewhere in the document for editing, Word will freeze, the pages won't scroll, and then I'm told that "Microsoft Word has stopped working" and that the computer is "searching for a solution". Inevitably, the computer fails to find one and simply reboots the computer. I've nearly lost several college essays and lengthy novels to this infuriating issue; if not for the Autorecovery files, I might have taken drastic measures long ago. How can you avoid touchscreen crashes like this in Word 2013, short of disabling the touchscreen altogether? I've gotten quite used to scrolling up and down with my fingers and would rather not need to find a new office because of this. I have installed no add-ons for MS 2013 and I doubt my few installed programs are causing the issue. Any help please? Thank you!

Hello,

Thank you for posting on Microsoft Community.

I am sorry that you are facing an issue with Word 2013 freezing and consequently the computer restarting on both your laptop computers. I will be helping you with this issue.

This issue may happen due to various reasons. In order to find a resolution for this issue, let us follow these steps to run the application in Safe Mode.

Try opening Word 2013 in the Safe Mode, and check if Word 2013 freezes while trying to scroll on the touchscreen. In order to open Word 2013 in the Safe Mode follow the steps as shown on the following Microsoft Resource article.

http://office.microsoft.com/en-us/support/why-cant-i-start-my-office-2013-application-HA104011864.aspx