Brian Kitt
Had this question 52
Question
  • This thread is locked from future replies
Brian Kitt asked on

Why does IE 8 hang so much?

I was forced to upgrade to IE 8, because I'm a developer, and I need to be on IE 8 to support users that upgrade.  I cannot possibly express in words how disgusted I am with IE 8.  It hangs CONSTANTLY.  I simply close it, re-open it, and it works.  As a developer, this is maddening, because of the known problem in VS 2008, where you can only debug 4 times before you have to close and reopen VS 2008.  What is going on here.  I keep hoping for a fix, but so far, I have not seen a fix for this.

Oh, and it's NOT me.  I see people all over the place complaining about how much IE 8 hangs. Does Microsoft test anymore?  Over the last 3 years, the quality of software from Microsoft has taken a HUGE nose dive.  Office 2007, Vista, VS 2008, and IE 8.  All 4 of these are by far, the worst in their category that Microsoft has ever released.  I am very frustrated that Microsoft cannot test more.
Debbie - Support Engineer
Found this helpful 0
Debbie - Support Engineer replied on

Hi Brian Kitt,

Thanks for posting to answers.microsoft.com

We want to assist you with the situation experienced, let me ask if you have defined whether the issue is involving IE8 or possibly add-ons that may have been installed a long the way?

Here are some steps to troubleshoot for corrupted add-ons.

Please follow them and let us know if it is still hanging as you described.

What to do if Internet Explorer stops responding

Also

Reset Internet Explorer settings

Thank you

Debbie
Microsoft Answers Support Engineer
Visit our Microsoft Answers Feedback Forum and let us know what you think.
Debbie Microsoft Answers Support Engineer Visit our Microsoft Answers Feedback Forum
Brian Kitt
Found this helpful 4
Brian Kitt replied on

Sorry, none of the above.