wpgkayak
Had this question 3
Question
wpgkayak asked on

AppName: iexplore.exe_ AppVer: 8.0.6001.18702_ ModName: entapi.dll__ModVer: 8.0.0.240_ Offset: 0000368a____

I did a security update on my computer today.  Included in the updates was Internet Explorer 8.  Everything seemed to install just find.  After the reboot, internet explorer would not work.

After uninstalling explorer 8 I tried reinstalling an earlier version of explorer, but it would not install properly.

I had to use another computer to download firefox - which I have never used before, so that I could gain the internet back on my computer.

I tried reinstalling Internet Explorer 8 several times.  Each time I try to run it I get the above error message.

When I updated my second computer, I did not install the Internet Explorer 8, everything else installed just fine.  After the reboot I tried running Internet Explorer 7 which was installed on that computer.  It will not start at all.

When I went back to complete additional updates, because I am running firefox it would not let me. 

So I am in a catch 22 position.  Microsoft Internet explorer will not install and will not work, and I can no longer update security patches.

wpgkayak
Found this helpful 0
Answer
wpgkayak replied on

I finally have IE7 reinstalled and working.
What I had to do.
Uninstall IE8
do a system restore, IE7 still would not install so and the remove button was not available
Uninstalled service pack 3, this allowed me to uninstall IE7
Reinstalled service pack 3
reinstalled IE7, IE7 still would not work
reset on internet options
Now I have to reinstall all of the service pack updates.
will do them 1 at a time checking to see which one interferes with IE

Thahaseena M
Found this helpful 0
Thahaseena M replied on
Microsoft

Hi Wpgkayak,

Welcome to Microsoft Answers Forums.

We would like to get a better understanding of this issue so we can better assist not only you but other users with similar problems as well.